Forty Days Without Facebook

So I’ve thought long and hard about what to forgo for Lent this year. In years past, I’ve given up things mostly pertaining to my physical health – caffeine, chocolate, meat, fast food. This year, however, I decided to go with something that pertains more to my mental and emotional health:

Facebook.

I can’t deny, Mark Zuckerberg’s little invention is highly useful. It helps me know what’s going on in my friends’ lives, helps me put out there what’s going on in my life, helps me communicate with my friends, etc., etc. However, I have found that at times I can be WAY too dependent upon Facebook, and it can be a distraction sometimes – like, during class, and that’s just bad.

I started thinking about it, and thought back ten years – Spring of 2001, my second semester at Northern Arizona University. I had no cell phone, I had no blog, I had no Twitter, I had no Facebook. How did I communicate with my friends? E-mail and my (gasp!) LAND LINE PHONE, along with personal, face-to-face communication. Now, I will not be giving up my cell phone for Lent (seeing as how it is my phone, period). However, I will be removing the Facebook widget from my Android home screen for the duration. I won’t be giving up my blog or my Twitter; however, I also probably won’t update those any more often than the occasional rate at which I currently update them.

Truth be told, I think it will be good for me. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Forty Days Without Facebook”

  1. Good luck with that. I’m personally considering giving up spending any money for anything that isn’t a necessity – aka: food, utilities, gas, bills. So don’t expect an Easter card unless I figure out how to email you one. ;P

  2. I will miss your musings, but at least I can still read your blogs. What will you do with all the extra time? Pray!
    Oh, and Katie Sexton says that she is going to find a way to bug you every day in Lent about giving up Facebook. Something about what comes around goes around, or something like that.

Leave a Reply

