Day One – Hello, Wake Forest!

At 1:00 PM today, my higher theological education will officially begin, as I find myself in Elementary Hebrew I, learning how to read the Old Testament in its original language. My hope is that so doing will help me gain a greater understanding of what is unquestionably the more complicated half of the Bible.

(A side note – for those of you who say that the New Testament is equally complicated, let me wrap the whole kit and kaboodle up for you in four passages: John 3:16-17, Luke 10:27, Ephesians 2:8-9, James 2:17. Yes, there is far more to the New Testament than just those six verses, but I would be willing to venture that a solid 85% of the New Testament could fall under the heading of one of those four passages.)

Anyway. I’ve spent the last couple days or so doing things such as sleeping for ten hours and watching the first eleven episodes of Glee. Perhaps not the most productive use of my time, but hey – I’m assuming that the NEXT time I’m going to have time to marathon a TV show in that fashion will be, oh, some time in the summer of 2013.

One of the strange things, though, is how even though I’m literally on the other side of the country from home, I don’t really feel disconnected. Facebook, AIM, e-mail – they all make it possible to stay connected in real time. Text messages bring me little excerpts of what’s going on in people’s lives, whether through real messages or through Twitter. And finally, thanks to the time I head to campus, and thanks to modern technology, all I have to do is plug my headphones into my Droid, and I can listen to John Holmberg and his band of merry misfits on KUPD as I walk in to campus, just as I have in my car every week day for the past three years.

So, today it begins. More than ten years after the first Arizona Disciples pastor told me I should consider ministry, nearly a decade after Jeff Johnson very seriously had a conversation with me about going to seminary, more than six years after the first time I said that I felt called, and nearly two years after I realized that it was time to start seriously looking –

When I was at NAU, I talked like a Lumberjack, I thought like a Lumberjack, I reasoned like a Lumberjack. But when I came to Wake Forest, I put Lumberjack ways behind me.
Today, divinity school begins. Today, I become a Demon Deacon.

4 thoughts on “Day One – Hello, Wake Forest!”

  1. my brother thinks it’s silly that one of the top notch seminaries has “demon deacons” as their mascot. i think it’s kind of silly too. but…what do i know? i was a freaking antelope.

    1. Well, in fairness, the Demon Deacon is the mascot for all of Wake Forest University – not just the divinity school. However, it becomes MORE ironic when you consider that when founded, Wake was ORIGINALLY a Baptist school. And seriously – the Demon Deacon as a BAPTIST mascot?!
      Of course, Wake Forest is no longer officially affiliated with any religious body. Thus the ON-CAMPUS BAR.

      1. i know it’s for all of the school, it’s still just silly =) baptist, huh? in thaaat case, considering that and my ‘lopes, baptist schools just have the COOLEST mascots. haha.

Leave a Reply

